Open Daily0900 - 1700
Melawati hill is located in the coastal town of Kuala Selangor; about 30 minutes drive from Kuala Lumpur. Due to the strategic location of Melawati Hill which allows for excellent point to monitor ships in the Straits of Malacca, the Altingsburg fort was built here and thus that elevates the whole historical value of this place. The fort which was formerly named Fort Melawati was constructed primarily to shield the state from the Dutch’s invasion during the reign of Sultan Ibrahim (1778-1826), the second Sultan of Selangor state.
In July 1784 when Selangor was taken over by the Dutch, the fort suffered some damage and it was then given a reconstruction work when the Dutch began to install new cannons of better and more powerful feature there.
A year later on June 28, 1785, Sultan Ibrahim and his brother, Dato' Penggawa Permatang Mahabijaya (Penggawa Tua) together with Bendahara Abdul Majid of Pahang initiated a night raid, which was a successful one to regain control over the Altingsburg Fort . The ongoing conflict to dominate the tin areas between different parties during the Selangor Civil War (1867- 73) had caused another severe damage to the Fort, leaving the fort to its current condition.
Some other things to see on the Melawati Hill include a well which is called the Poisoned Well, just as its name suggests, this well was filled with poisons from a mixture of latex and itchy bamboo shoots. The water level would be filled up to the chin of the victims, serving as a place where traitors were executed during the older days.
There is also the Royal Mausoleum in Bukit Melawati, the graveyard for the first three Sultans of Selangor including Sultan Salehuddin (1765-1770), Sultan Ibrahim (1770-1826), and Sultan Muhammad (1826-1857).
Whereas the Chief (Penggawa) Canon, a canon that is always covered in yellow cloth, was found on 23 September 1966 at the Buluh River, 12kilometer to the South of Kuala Selangor, the. It was originally named “Petoi Boga” meaning White Princess.
On the hill top there is this Altingsburg Lighthouse, constructed in 1907 during the Dutch’s reign. Carefully preserved till now, the lighthouse is still in useable condition however it’s not opened for public access. Visitors may also find the Silver Leafed Monkeys loitering around the hill area seeking for food, which has been another unique attraction in this place.